run eat life

live life healthy and happy

Wild Weekly Photo Challenge – Flying

Leave a comment

I am an easy flight passenger. I don’t get scared while on a plane usually and I love the views that you get from high up. During a trip in Alaska all those assumptions were challenged.

I took an amazing trip up crossing the Arctic Circle and visiting an Eskimo village at Anaktuvuk Pass. It was an amazing visit to a small community that lives pretty much in isolation. The only access is by plane from the Anaktuvuk Pass Airport, which is really is just a gravel airstrip. The plane that took us back to Fairbanks was a 9-seater little commuter plane. I sat just behind the pilots. Even that wasn’t scary.

The moment I started wondering about the marvels and technology of flying was when the pilots took out a map – a regular paper map (granted it probably wasn’t a regular map…) – and checked their position in the mountain range…

A marvelous flying experience nonetheless or even more for it. 🙂

I’m participating in the online adventure travel magazine LetsBeWild.com’s Wild Weekly Photo Challenge for bloggers. This week’s Challenge is: Flying!

pilot with map

Author: Tatjana

explorer | runner | hiker | marketer | with opinions | coffee-lover | photographer | seeking adventures in everyday life

Share your thoughts!